Midwest style vs. east coast style

East coast style and west coast style have always been popularily compared to one another. But what about the midwest? I was able to score a Q&A with Michigan State University college student, Kerry Chereskin.

Aspiring fashion magazine editor, Chereskin talks about the looks she loves and how Midwest style leans towards the more laid back look.

KM: How would you describe your personal style?

I would describe my style as classic with a twist- I like to play with the trends a little bit and try new things to make it my own. I love taking simpler pieces and playing them up with accessories.

KM: How do Midwesterners like to dress?
KC: Midwesterner’s definitely dress for comfort and warmth- especially during the winter! Of course we love dressing up for fun evenings and events, but for the most part its very casual, which is why its always so fun to travel to the east coast where it seems more acceptable to dress up and be stylish, while playing with trends and trying new daring things. If you dress too crazy in the midwest, people tend to stare at you like you are out of place.

KM: What’s the overall style aesthetic at your college campus?
KC: The overall style aesthetic at Michigan state is casual during the day and more trendy for the bar scene and parties at night. Students tend to follow alot of the same trends though (northface jackets, ugg boots, and leggings) which can be frustrating. For class, sweatpants are acceptable…anything goes really. But for nights out, definitely dress the part!

KM: Where do you like to shop?
KC:  While I’m in Michigan I shop at J Crew, Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, and department stores like Nordstrom. Midwesterners are definitely more hesitant to take fashion risks.

KM: Is there a big vintage or thrift store shopping presense in Michigan?
KC: Vintage shopping is not very big in the midwest as far as I’m aware. My friends and I rarely go in thrift stores unless we are looking looking for something in particular.

KM: What is your must-have accessory?
KC: My must have accessory of the moment are large statement necklaces. They can dress up any outfit and definitely make your look more interesting! Boots are also great for fall, you can pair them with so many different outfits- a dress or skirt with tights or with your skinny jeans.

KM: What is a really big trend on campus right now?
KC: The big trend at Michigan State right now is probably wearing the higher waisted skirts with tank tops and platform heels. Ugg boots, and the long down northface jackets are a must to bear the cold weather here.

KM: Would you classify yourself as a trend setter or trend follower?
KC: I like to think of myself as a mix between a trendsetter and trend follower. I like to follow the trends and keep up with all of the fashion pages in my favorite magazines, but I like to put my own spin on them to make it my own.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

